Yoga is perhaps the world's first system that recognizes the interconnection and interaction between body and mind. References to yoga can be seen in many ancient scriptures like Bhagavad Gita, Mahabharata, the Vedas, etc.. The most important and most famous purveyors of yoga was the great sage Patanjali, the author of the treatise "Yoga Sutras". He was perhaps the first recorded the yoga principles, which were passed orally from generation to generation.

The main purpose of yoga is to isolate the mind of all thoughts, worries and fears, and to increase the strength and flexibility of the body. The regular practice of yoga can help keep stress and tension at bay and facilitate the mind to a state of well-being and peace.

Ayurveda and Yoga are science sisters. While Ayurveda is mainly concerned with the health of the body and the mind, Yoga deals with mental health issues. Yoga exercises help with their preventive and curative effect to bring the neurohormones and the metabolism of the body in a natural order and balance and improve endocrine metabolism. This practice covers the stress and stress-related disorders in a natural way.

All roads for physical well-being, mental peace, harmony and moral elevation meet in Yoga. The art of living a healthy and contended life, it is among the six systems of Indian philosophical thought. Mastering Yoga demands a steady graph of perseverance, persistence, dedication and total surrender from the person seeking it. See what Patanjali says in ‘Yoga Sutras’ about the eight-fold path for liberation from pain and suffering.

Yama (five restraints)

  • Ahimsa (non-violence)
  • Satya (truthfulness)
  • Asteya (non-covetousness)
  • Brahmacharya (non-sensuality)
  • Aparigraha (non-possessiveness)

Niyama (five observances)

  • Shaucha (Purity)
  • Santosha (Contentment)
  • Tapas (Austerity)
  • Svadhyaya (Self-study)
  • Ishvarapranidhana (Surrender to God)
  • Asana (Discipline of the physical body or posture)

  • Pranayama (Control over bio energy through respiratory action)
  • Pratyahara (Withdrawal of the senses inwards through abstraction)
  • Dharna (Concentration)
  • Dhyana (Meditation)
  • Samadhi (Self-realisation)


Meditation is to attain a high concentration levels and takes in the inner depths of the mind. The road to meditation consists of three phases - dharana (concentration), Dhvana (meditation) and samadhi (enlightenment). At the concentration for a long time to any particular cause, and the attention is fixed or meditation Dhvana reached. Prolonged meditation leads to Samadhi or enlightenment.

In Somatheeram yoga and meditation are taught under the experienced guidance of a guru.


Somatheeram Ayurveda Village,
(Somatheeram Research Institute & Ayurveda Hospital Pvt. Ltd.)
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram- 695501
Kerala, India

+91-471-2268101, 2266111
Get in touch

Mail to

+91 8111886151

+91 8111886151